In 1845, English immigrant George Earle constructed a dam on Deep River to power sawmills and gristmills. Four years later, he named the settlement Hobart for his brother, Frederick Hobart Earle, who remained in England. The millpond that resulted from the dam became known as Lake George.
Hobart has expanded tremendously since those early days. The city offers visitors a wide variety of fun activities and exciting experiences. Lake George in downtown Hobart is a popular destination for fishing, boating and just strolling along the lakefront. The lake is home to the annual Clocktower Model Boat Race in September and Lakefront Festival in August.
Deep River County Park is a beautiful, serene park which encompasses more than 1,200 acres. This park features Wood's Historic Grist Mill, which was built in 1838 by John Wood and rebuilt in 1876 by his son, Nathan. The park also offers a visitor center, trails, hayrides and a playground. It is home to the Deep River Grinders, who play vintage baseball under 1858 rules and attire.
NOTICE: Many homes contain recording devices, and buyers should be aware they may be recorded during a showing.
DIGITAL MILLENNIUM COPYRIGHT ACT (DMCA) NOTICE